interactive installation, interactive architecture, cybernetics, TUdelft, Delft, interactive art, digital fabrication, responsive art, responsive installation,, interactive installation, interactive architecture, cybernetics, responsive architecture, interactive art, digital fabrication, responsive art, responsive installation, living architecture, installation art, soft architecture, kinetic art, kinetic installation, responsive environments, interacitve environments, cyber-physical

Poietic Veil: Living Architecture Prototype Testbed

Delft University of Technology

Delft, NL  2022

Science Centre Delft in collaboration with members of the Living Architecture Systems Group and Philip Beesley of Waterloo Architecture is bringing an immersive interactive environment to TUDelft. This multi-year project combines public art on the campus of TUDelft, the municipality of Delft, and scientists and artists from the Netherlands and Canada. The project is supported by TUDelft’s Faculty of Design Engineering and many Netherlands and Canadian contributors. The project includes students of TUDelft’s Interactive Environments Minor, exploring experimental architecture, electronics, behaviour programming and spatial sound.

A new interactive sculpture will be installed at the entry of the new Science Centre facility. The project provides a testbed for experimental research. The sculpture will act as a beacon that expresses a sustainable, inclusive vision of future design. This environment features multiple kinds of innovative technology, including lightweight biopolymer compliant structures, arrays of miniature interactive electronics, and dynamic responsive behaviour.

Project Leads

  • Philip Beesley
  • Timothy Boll
  • Matt Gorbet
  • Lisa Jiang
  • Michael Lancaster

LASG Executive

Rob Gorbet
Anne Paxton
Rekha Ramachandran
Alison Thompson

LASG Design & Production

Alexandros Angelidis
Adrian Chîu
Kevan Cress
Nicolas Désilles
Sebastián González Álvarez
Isabella Ieraci
Chris Kang
Lucia Kempe
Mike Nopper
Abida Rahman

TUDelft Interactive Environments Minor Students

François Andrés
Laura Arango Mejia
Diana Lore De la Vega Valdés
Ada Fabrykiewicz
Leonor Falcão
Rita J. Gorriz Salanova
Stijn Gruben
Jeroen Heijmans
Eli Hommes
Olaf Kamperman
Sasha Kiselev
Ha Yeun Kim
Doruk Kırbeyi
Julia Kleinwächter
Jafet Koeckhoven
Ian Lin
Laura Martinez Quesada
Izzy Mico
Joris Mooij
Sophie Timmerman
Tijmen Tonino
Benjamin van Schaik
Tieme van Wijnen
Nika Umnov
Tasmin Whittle
Linjing Wu
Pablo Yániz González

TUDelft Interactive Environments Minor Staff

Aadjan van der Helm
Adriaan Bernstein
Nathan Douenburg
Martin Havranek
Caspar Krijgsman
Doreen Mulder
Vivian Nguyen
Justin Oosterbaan
Wim Schermer
Govert Schilling
Dieter Vandoren

TUDelft Science Center Staff

Teun Verkerk
Jules Dudok
Angela Hanna
Max Mahieu
Michael van der Meer


Poul Holleman
Joris Takken
Roman Willems

Supported by: Art on Campus, Canada Council for the Arts, Delft University of Technology, Gorbet Design Inc., Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, Philip Beesley Studio Inc., University of Waterloo. This work has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and innovation programme under the EnTimeMent grant agreement No. 824160.

  • Canada Council for the Arts
  • Horizon 2020 – European Commission
  • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada
  • Delft University of Technology
  • University of Waterloo